FIFA 17 will look to the Land of the Rising Sun for new teams

by: Sean Cahill -
More On: FIFA 17

FIFA 17 is slated to be a big change in the franchise. With the switch to the Frostbite engine and new visuals making for impeccable accuracy, fans of the beautiful game are as excited as ever to get their hands on this title.

EA Sports understands that this isn't going to be enough and wants to make sure everyone gets their fix, including those in Japan and fans of the Japanese top division, the J1 League.

All 18 teams will be included in this year's title, which more than likely means that scouting and youth academy recruitment is going to include the country. Included with these teams will be the new Suita City Football Stadium, home of Gamba Osaka.

The official list of the teams are as follows:

  • Albirex Niigata
  • Kashima Antlers
  • Omiya Ardija
  • Avispa Fukuoka
  • Shonan Bellmare
  • Yokohama F. Marinos
  • Kawasaki Frontale
  • Gamba Osaka
  • Nagoya Grampus
  • Jubilo Iwata
  • Urawa Red Diamonds
  • Kashiwa Reysol
  • Sagan Tosu
  • Sanfrecce Hiroshima
  • F.C. Tokyo
  • Vegalta Sendai
  • Ventforet Kofu
  • Vissel Kobe

The J1 League is currently at the midway point of the season as they are one of the rare leagues that follow the single calendar year schedule, but either way: You'll find them in this year's version come September.