A new EA Sports game, a new cover vote, polling is open for NHL 17

by: Rob -
More On: NHL 17

EA Sports have opened the voting for the latest edition of their hockey franchise, NHL 17. Eight NHL stars are in the running, one from each of the eight nations of the World Cup of Hockey. The finalists:




Twitter Vote Hashtag

Team Canada

Dallas Stars

Jamie Benn 


Team USA

San Jose Sharks

Joe Pavelski 


Team Czech Republic

Philadelphia Flyers

Jakub Voracek 


Team Finland

Florida Panthers

Aleksander Barkov 


Team Russia

St. Louis Blues

Vladimir Tarasenko 


Team Sweden

Tampa Bay Lightning

Victor Hedman 


Team Europe

Los Angeles Kings

Anze Kopitar 


Team North America

Edmonton Oilers

Connor McDavid 


The vote will be done in three rounds, starting each Tuesday over the next three weeks, with two of the potential cover stars going head to head in each round. This first round pits Pavelski vs. Kopitar, Barkov vs. Benn, McDavid vs. Voracek, and Tarasenko vs. Hedman. To cast your vote, it's best to head over to NHL.com, where they have a clearer breakdown of the matchups. You may also cast your ballot using the hashtags above on "Twitter Vote Thursdays," which is exactly what it sounds. Tweet out the hashtag on a Thursday and the vote will be tallied. 

NHL 17 will release sometime in the fall for PS4 and Xbox One. And for an quick look at how EA is working with fans to further push the envelope of creating the most realistic hockey experience possible, check out the Vision trailer below.